Inspiration (a kind of love)

Inspiration is a magical thing. It strikes when we least expect it and enlightens all of our senses. It can make us feel alive, add a breath of fresh air to an ailing work, or simply be something to get the juices flowing. It’s that first rush of love that we feel for a person, a place, an object or a sound that can make our hearts skip a beat, make us smile and make us glow. It’s no wonder we get a bit blocked up at times. An overload can be as overwhelming as an emptiness.

I like to limit my inspiration to auditory. Before I start writing anything, I usually get a feel for what the novel is going to be about and any associated moods to the main theme. Based on this, I can normally make a playlist which I listen to while writing to remind me where I am going. Here is the playlist for my Nanowrimo 2013 novel.

(Playlist is NSFW or children – contains swearing)

Sometimes, however, I get hit so hard by an image that it haunts me until I do something with it.

That happened early this week.

I’m a sucker for a derelict building so I visit various Urban Exploration (and exploitation) sites regularly for my fix since I’m unable to participate. A combination of getting time without the children and finding other like-minded people is hard enough without the additional pressures of being super unlucky, scared of spiders and stairs, and being the most clumsy oaf in the world! During my most recent visit, I found Pemberton House Farm (otherwise known as the Latvian Consulate near Chorley.) and now I am completely head-over-heels in love.

This house has me intrigued. Firstly because of its ties to now derelict theme parks I visited as a child and secondly because the house itself is such an odd layout, with items incongruous to their intended use (for example, an interior deadbolt on a child’s bedroom – how very V. C. Andrews!)

Now I’m overwhelmed with images and storylines, so much so that my ability to sleep has been a little compromised.

I’ll get over it, I’m sure. The images will only be my desktop background for a week or so before my Delicious returns to consume me.

Let me have my moment of inspiration.

7 responses to “Inspiration (a kind of love)

  1. Gosh you really are at the other extreme of me right now! How exciting to be flooded with so many ideas though. I love music and used to get a lot of ideas when I was out running. I should try working with music when I am writing, I haven’t done this before.

    The house sounds amazing, a really rich source of inspiration. Can’t wait to hear what you do with it!

    Thank you for linking up.

    • Thank you for doing the linky! I’m full of it at the moment (“it” being whatever you make of it haha). The new novel doesn’t use the house, but it was a lead into another idea and have me a few emotional reminders about the mood of this thing, if that makes any sense at all.

  2. Loved reading this, and felt very inspired by the way you get out and about, fueling ideas – I like derelict buildings too. When I get inspired, it’s usually in the strangest of places, like the shower and I get flooded with ideas and images, and then I’m in a rush to get out and write them down. I am going to go walk about for the idea I have for another novel… X Oh, and I love that you make yourself a music play list, and get yourself into the whole ‘feel’ of the novel – love that. Now you have inspired me!

    • Thank you. Music is a big thing! The house is creepy and beautifully ugly, with an odd past. I wish I could see it in person, as it were.

      Go write those ideas! It’s good to have a few novel seedlings floating around.

  3. Wow, you sound like you are buzzing! The house sounds very inspiring, I love derelict places – I remember falling in love with West pier in Brighton about 20 years ago because it looked so lonely and full of memories.

    I’d never thought of doing a playlist for writing before. Am going to file that idea as it could be an interesting thing to try. #writingwarriors

    • Oh, I’ll take a look at West Pier. I have a soft spot for desolate tourist attractions. There’s something so haunting about the lack of people, isn’t there?

      I put spotify to work gathering tunes, as once you’ve got a few you can tell it to create a radio station and it’ll find songs with a similar mood.

  4. Pingback: Why I write. | Kristina writes

Leave a Reply

